Learning to Reflect: What? So What? Now What?

Reflection.  Reflection gives me the opportunity to put myself on the witness stand and ask myself questions…What are my experiences?  What have I learned from my experiences?  What am I going to do with what I have learned?  It is amazing how these three questions can make an experience so much more valuable by encouraging you to not only evaluate what you experienced, but also apply what you learned whether good or bad. 

I do not reflect enough.  I am well aware that this is an area that I struggle with.  It mostly comes down to time and how challenging it can be to stop and reflect on what you learned.  I think a lot about my experiences, but I think too much about what I want to say and never get around to saying it or writing it down.  I really like the the following image and the questions that it presents as a strategy for reflection.   It is so basic and easy to follow.  What did you do?  Why does it matter? and What are you going to do with it?

 

So here goes my attempt at reflection…

CPD23 has been a great experience for me so far because it has provided me with the opportunity to connect with and learn from other librarians in the United States and in the UK.  I feel like the weekly “tasks” have really helped me to get involved in the online community and taught me the importance of not just being an observer, but also being a doer.  Often, I don’t think what I have to say is nearly as thoughtful or important as what other librarians have to say so I listen a lot (which teaches me a lot), but at some point I also need to be willing to share.  Sharing has been a great experience and I think that the skills that I am learning concerning sharing with other librarians via Twitter, Googleplus and blogs will continue on after the CPD23 is finished.  Thanks CPD23!

Leave a Reply

